Desperate need of help!!! Graph the cost and revenue functions C = 0.08x + 25000 R = 0.28x in the same viewing rectangle. a) Find the sales x necessary to break even (R = C).
What exactly are you not sure about here?
i dont know what they're trying to ask me
Well, the 'break-even' point is where the cost of producing 'x' units is equal to the amount you make from selling 'x' unit. They give you the hint "R=C" because you set the function R equal to C and solve for x.
Essentially, you're finding the x-value that makes R = C.
0.08x + 25000=0.28x like this?
Yes
will I subtract 0.08 from o.28?
0.28 i mean
Yeah, we subtract 0.08x from 0.28x first
that's 0.2
mmhm. So, that will give us: 25000 = 0.2x We could then divide by 0.2, or if it helps to do so, we could multiply by 10 and then divide by 2 (the same thing, just easier to do without a calculator)
i get 125000
Yeah, so our answer would be: x = 125000
ok hang on
b) Find the corresponding revenue R obtained by selling x units. this is apart of the question
We'd just use x=125000 in R, since that is the revenue for the x-value we found. R = 0.28x <- x=125000 R = 0.28(125000)
35000?
Yep. :)
ok let me see if i go right, hang on
I did!!! Thank you so much!!!
No problem! I'm glad to help! :D
:D
@michelle010d Would you click on the "best answer" showing you're happy with the solver!
In order to break even, 125,000 units need to be selled out with the revenue is $35,000!
Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!