Producing a musical costs $88,00 plus $5600 per performance. One sold-out performance earns $7500 in revenue. If every performance sells out, how many performances are needed to break even?
If we take this work problem we can easily make an equation out of it So Let us say Y is how much money we make Y=-8800+5600x+7500z x is the number of performances z is the number of sold out performances I think you may have missed a 0 in 88000? if so you can just add the extra 0. From there, you will want to set Y=0, which means they did not lose any money or gain any money, breaking even. and with only sell out performances you can set x=0, so our new equation is Y=-8800+7500z 0=-8800+7500z solve for z :)
So sorry, it should be: Y=-8800-5600x+7500x x is your number of performances :)
So just to clear it up one step more You can combine the two x terms so... Y=-8800+1900x Plug 0 in for Y and solve for x :)
Thanks so much :)
Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!