You are the advisor of a Junior Achievement group in a local high school. You need to help the group make a decision about fees that must be paid to sell gardening tools at the Home and Garden Show. The group sells a set of tools for $24.00. The manufacturing cost (all variable) is $7.20 per set. The Home and Garden Show coordinator allows the following payment option for groups exhibiting and selling at the show: Pay a fee of $4,560 plus 10% of all revenue from tool sets sold at the show. how many sets do they have to sell to break even
let's figure it out! if we sell \(x\) sets, the revenue will be \(24x\) cost of goods sold will be manufacturing cost + selling cost COGS = \(7.20x + 4560 + 0.10*24x\) At break-even, revenue = COGS \[24x = 7.20x + 4560 + 2.4x\] Solve for \(x\), then check your work by plugging in the value of \(x\) and making sure that the revenue and cost numbers match.
Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!