Ask your own question, for FREE!
Mathematics 13 Online
OpenStudy (anonymous):

You are the advisor of a Junior Achievement group in a local high school. You need to help the group make a decision about fees that must be paid to sell gardening tools at the Home and Garden Show. The group sells a set of tools for $24.00. The manufacturing cost (all variable) is $7.20 per set. The Home and Garden Show coordinator allows the following payment option for groups exhibiting and selling at the show: Pay a fee of $4,560 plus 10% of all revenue from tool sets sold at the show. how many sets do they have to sell to break even

OpenStudy (whpalmer4):

let's figure it out! if we sell \(x\) sets, the revenue will be \(24x\) cost of goods sold will be manufacturing cost + selling cost COGS = \(7.20x + 4560 + 0.10*24x\) At break-even, revenue = COGS \[24x = 7.20x + 4560 + 2.4x\] Solve for \(x\), then check your work by plugging in the value of \(x\) and making sure that the revenue and cost numbers match.

Can't find your answer? Make a FREE account and ask your own questions, OR help others and earn volunteer hours!

Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!
Can't find your answer? Make a FREE account and ask your own questions, OR help others and earn volunteer hours!

Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!