ok I need a real math wiz Scenario: Suppose your business makes high-grade PDAs, personal digital assistants. It costs you $80,000 a month for fixed costs, such as rent, employee salaries, and other essential items. Also, it costs $300 to make each PDA, called a unit. If you are able to sell each unit for $500, how many PDAs do you need to sell to break even?
It just needs knowledge of basic algebra. Have you identified the variable?
it also says Step 1: Set up the variables. Let x = the number of units y = the cost/income (expense/revenue) in dollars
step 2 Cost Equation: total cost = fixed cost + (cost to make each unit) · (# of units) y = Income Equation: total income = y =
step 3 Step 3: Solve the system of equations using substitution.
step 4 Step 4: State the break-even point.
ok so first for step 1 I set up the variables
Let x = the number of units y = the cost/income (expense/revenue) in dollars
x=? y=300/500(80,000/x)
The variables have already been set up. But you dont need variable y, revenue in dollars. Just x is sufficient
is that right?
but it says to set y up
It can be solved more simply using just one variable.
ok
so x=?
number of PDAs
which I dont know
Which is the only thing you dont know in this equation and have to find out
oooooo wait do I divide 80000/300?
I dont think so. It is just the overhead cost. You have to keep it as it is.
wait im confused
so x=?
x is number of PDAs you have to make to balance the overhead cost and the cost of making PDAs.
ok so x=80,000+300?
No, x will be present on both sides of the equation, which has expense amount on one side and revenue amount on the other side.
so x=80,000+(300*x)?
Yes that will be the left side of your equation.
ok now what?
Now write the right side of your equation. What will the total revenue be?
x*y?
y ?
the total would be x* 80,000 * (300*x)
i think
The total EXPENSE (cost of making the PDAs) will be 80000 + 300*x. I hope you understand this.
I thought that was the left side of the equation
Yes it was. Right side of the equation will be Money from one PDA * number of PDAs
so x*80,00*(300*x)=500*x is my final equation?
or no wait i would have 2 equation right? x*80,000*(300*x) and 500*x
Not x*80,00*(300*x) , 80,000 + 300*x 80000 is not required for 1 pda, it is the total amount for all pdas
o whoops
so 80,000+300*x and 500*x are my equations?
Your one equation in one variable is 80,000 + 300*x = 500*x You can solve for x easily
An equation always has two sides
80,000 + 300*x = 500*x 200*x=80,000 x=80,000/200 x=400
right?
Yes. Congrats! So now you are a maths whiz.
haha thatnks but how do I find the break even point?
The break even point is the number of PDAs you need to sell to make expense and revenue even. So it is 400, the answer you got.
o
but then it says The following graph represents the above information about your hypothetical business. Label the y-axis with appropriate units and the break-even point with coordinates. Also, write on each line either "cost" or "revenue" to indicate what each represents.
so does it want me to graph it?
Here you have to variable y.
ok
In the graph the x axis will be number of pdas and y axis will be expense/revenue.
so would it look like|dw:1376596443310:dw|
wait they want coordinates? where do I put them?
|dw:1376596526776:dw|
Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!