Ask your own question, for FREE!
Mathematics 16 Online
OpenStudy (macaylam):

PLEASE HELP! A company plans to sell bicycle helmets for $26 each. The company's business manager estimates that the cost, y, of making x helmets is a quadratic function with a y-intercept of 8,400 and a vertex of (500, 15,900). y = 26x and y = -0.030(x-500)2+15,900 How many helmets must the company make and sell to break even? ____ helmets Ive been trying to figure it out but I keep making a mistake and I don't know where I am messing up on the problem

zepdrix (zepdrix):

\(\rm y = 26x\) is the `sale price` for selling x helmets. \(\rm y = -0.030(x-500)2+15,900\) is the `cost` to make x helmets. So the profit made on x helmets is the `sale price` minus the `cost` to make them. \[\large\rm profit=26x-(-0.030(x-500)^2+15,900)\]

zepdrix (zepdrix):

So ummm

zepdrix (zepdrix):

We want to know when a profit of zero is made, no profit, break even.\[\large\rm 0=26x-(-0.030(x-500)^2+15,900)\]Ya I think that's what they want... I think.

zepdrix (zepdrix):

And you would have to solve for x from this point.

OpenStudy (macaylam):

Thank you!!!

Can't find your answer? Make a FREE account and ask your own questions, OR help others and earn volunteer hours!

Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!
Can't find your answer? Make a FREE account and ask your own questions, OR help others and earn volunteer hours!

Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!