Ask your own question, for FREE!
Mathematics 18 Online
OpenStudy (anonymous):

A company produces boxes. the company sells the boxes for $12.50 each. The company estimates the cost of producing x boxes as $(9.5x+45). Calculate: The number of boxes which must be produced and sold for the firm to 'break-even' (revenue=cost).

OpenStudy (anonymous):

hmmm....

OpenStudy (anonymous):

Ok, so the cost function is \[C(x) = 9.5x + 45\] With x being the number of units. If they make 12.5 per unit and they make x units, what will their revenue be?

OpenStudy (anonymous):

Then take the Revenue function and set it equal to the cost function and see what x is to break even.

OpenStudy (anonymous):

would this be the equation: 12.5x = 9.5x+45 then solve for x?

OpenStudy (anonymous):

Yes

OpenStudy (anonymous):

Yes.

OpenStudy (anonymous):

thank you !

OpenStudy (anonymous):

And you should get 15 for the number of boxes

OpenStudy (anonymous):

yea

OpenStudy (anonymous):

yes I got that thank you !

Can't find your answer? Make a FREE account and ask your own questions, OR help others and earn volunteer hours!

Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!
Can't find your answer? Make a FREE account and ask your own questions, OR help others and earn volunteer hours!

Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!