A medal for whoever helped me with this! In order to increse his sales, a shopkeeper mixes two types of hard candy: peppermints and cinnamon candies. The peppermints sell for $1.80/kg. The cinnamon candy sells for $2.40/kg. The new candy mixture sells for $2.16/kg. The shopkeeper makes up 50 kg of the new mixture. Use a graph to determine the amount of each type of candy that is needed to make the new mixture. Verify your answer.
Ok, Here let us keep the amount of Peppermint as P and amount of Cinnamon as C we know P + C = 50 (given) ----> Equation (1) 1.8 P + 2.4 C will be the Cost of this mixture. But the price is already set at 2.16/kg so the sale of 50 Kg will fetch him a revenue of 50 x 2.16 = $108 But this sale should give him a profit. So his cost should be less than $108 So if I write the inequality I get 1.8 P + 2.4 C < 108 ----- Inequality (1) From Equation 1 I have C = 50 - P If I substitute that in the inequality I get 1.8 P + 2.4 (50-P) < 108 1.8 P + 120 - 2.4 P < 108 -0.6P + 120 < 108 120 - 108 < .6 P 12 < .6P 12/.6 < P 20 < P or P > 20 This means I have to have an amount of P that is more than 20Kg for me to turn a profit. So my C should be less than 20 20 < P < 50 and 0 < C <20
Let me see how to do it in a graph
sorry C < 30
They break even when P = 20 and C = 30. To make a profit P > 20 and C < 30
|dw:1370208715779:dw|
Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!