Econ question. Yes, I know this is the math section. I'm desperate :/
@jim_thompson5910 do you know how to do this at all?
a) why will the firm want to keep producing?
Beccause Price > Average Total cost..right?
I think you meant price > Average variable cost
oops, yeah, sorry :P
(btw, the prof said that since the prices aren't exact on the chart to go to the closest number, rounded down. so 56=55 on the chart)
that's correct, as long as price > Average variable cost the firm will want to produce
What's the marginal revenue in part a)?
marginal revenue = amount of money brought in for selling one additional unit
what column should i be looking at?
marginal revenue = price per unit
so 10?
$56 is the price
7.87 (Mc-atc?)
Em, kind of. So it's the exact same number?
are you familiar with the idea that firms should produce the number of items such that MR = MC ?
MR = marginal revenue = price per item sold MC = marginal cost
Sorry, I thought revenue was what they gained after paying costs.
no, that's profit
profit = revenue - costs
revenue is the money coming in expenses (or costs) is the money going out
so the first box in a = Yes second box in a = 56? third box (profit) = 7.87
ah ok ok.
the rule is that if MR > MC then the firm will have positive profit since MR - MC > 0 so the firm will keep bumping up the output until MR = MC if MR < MC then the firm will lose money per item (so it will lose money overall). So either they fix the problem to get to MR = MC or they go out of business
look at the chart when is MR = MC MR = price = 56
?? at 8?
yes, at 9 or above, MR < MC so 8 is the highest we should go
the firm should produce 8 units
hm, ok. So it is profitable for them to produe, yeah?
one sec
Ok :) These are the options they give me.
what is the average total cost to produce 8 units? what is the total cost to produce 8 units?
ATC = 48.13 Tc = ? average fixed cost + average variable?
ATC = average total cost TC = total cost Q = quantity produced ATC = TC/Q
Side note: TC/Q = (FC + VC)/Q TC/Q = FC/Q + VC/Q TC/Q = AFC + AVC where... FC = fixed costs VC = variable cost AFC = average fixed cost AVC = average variable cost because TC/Q = AFC + AVC we can see that saying "average total cost = average fixed cost + average variable cost" is true
But how do I find the total cost?
ATC = average total cost TC = total cost Q = quantity produced ATC = 48.13 TC = unknown for now Q = 8 ATC = TC/Q
ATC = TC/Q 48.13 = x/8 x = ??
385.04?
yes
TC = 385.04 TR = ??? TR is the total revenue
TR = Q*MR = Q*Price Q = quantity produced MR = price
448?
yes
profit = TR - TC
62.96
that's the total profit what is the profit per unit?
7.87
Dude, I gott that answer forever ago by doing MC - ATC. That works too, no?
when you produce 8 units, MC - ATC = 55 - 48.13 = 6.87
7.87 is the correct result for "profit per unit"
I plugged in the original number, 56. so it was 56-48.13 = 7.87
I see, yes MR - ATC = 56-48.13 = 7.87 works. I wasn't thinking of that easier shortcut lol. So you're correct
haha k. So i'm confused where these numbers plug into the chart though.
7.87 is the profit per unit for part a
third box?
yes in the first column
Ok, I got column a and b correct but c wrong.
here's a handy table (see attached)
Oh wow..that is very thorough! haha I am soo sorry this has taken so long. I'm in an irritable mood and late-night homework is not good for my health xP You're a champ.
excel did much of the work really let me look at part c
hmm..well I put 20.50 on c last row but it said it's wrong.
what are the drop box options in the second part of part c?
not applicable loss minimizing profit maximizing
do you think it's not applicable?
yeah because it's definitely not profit maximizing I don't think any items will be produced at all because MR < AVC for all values of Q
so basically the firm is faced with these choices either a) produce nothing and lose $60 (the fixed cost initially invested) OR b) produce items and lose more than $60. If you look at my table, you'll see -73, -81, etc in the P column. So they stand to lose more money. So they are best just shutting down and moving elsewhere or producing something else.
hm ok. That makes sense. But it also says the output is not 4?
the output would be 0
since any other output makes them lose more than $60
oh xD so then total loss = ? 0? or 60?
total loss = 60
60 is the fixed cost (to buy a machine or something) they lose whatever the initial fixed cost is if they don't produce anything and decide to move onto something else
so maybe the owners thought they would make money, but after investing the $60, they realize they'll lose more money. So it's just something they have to live with and move on
Wait, where is 60 on the chart they gave me?
Actually, if you don't want to answer that it's all good. All the answers are correct now. Thanks again. A lot.
the 60 is the fixed cost I know this because when 1 item is produced, the average fixed cost (AFC) is $60 AFC = FC/Q 60 = FC/1 60*1 = FC FC = 60
you can use other rows, like when Q = 10 AFC = FC/Q 6 = FC/10 6*10 = FC FC = 60 and you get the same result
I see ^-^ thanks.
you're welcome
:)
Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!