The total revenue function for a product is given by R=655x dollars, and the total cost function for this same product is given by C=19,250+70x+x^2, where C is measured in dollars. For both functions, the input x is the number of units produced and sold.
a. Form the profit function for this product from the two given functions. b. What is the profit when 28 units are produced and sold? c. What is the profit when 41 units are produced and sold? d. How many units must be sold to break even on this product?
Profit is all of the money that you make after you've subtracted your `costs` from the total money coming in ( `revenue` ).
\[\large\rm P=R-C\]\[\large\rm P=655x-(19250+70x+x^2)\]Make sense? Combine like-terms from that point. Notice I put brackets around the cost function. This negative (subtraction) is being applied to all three terms. So the brackets are to remind us that we need to distribute the negative.
I'm with you
what do you mean by distribute the negative?
|dw:1475706697714:dw|It will change each of these operations from addition to subtraction.
Join our real-time social learning platform and learn together with your friends!